Massage Tables

Axiom2001
This topic is 5907 days old and is no longer open for new replies.  Replies are automatically disabled after two years of inactivity.  Please create a new topic instead of posting here.  

Recently I have had three massages where the masseurs used a table. One used a bed.

Personally, I am more comfortable getting a massage on a table that has a cradle than one those doesn't have one. With that opening, I can breathe fully. When I'm on a table without one and have my head propped on pillows-- at times (when my head is turned to the side or the left for a long period of time)-- I find it difficult breathing, so I have to adjust.

What type of table do you prefer and why? Or do prefer to receive the massage while lying in a bed?

:9 :-) :9

Guest josephga

speaking as a massage therapist I would never go to anyone using anything other than a table. if you are getting the massage for therapeutic purposes a bed is a total waste because most of the pressure is absorbed into the mattress.I use a table with a face cradle. If the client doesnt like the face cradle they have the option of a pillow.

Pan, a superb masseur based in San Francisco, uses a mat or low pad to give his massages. I think he braces one's head on pillows, and I have found this to be comfortable, but when it comes down to what I prefer-- it's a professional table with a nice face cradle!

Guest josephga

Thai massage is done on a mat too. I get a Thai massage once a month and the guy uses a mat. they make a body cushion system for the floor too. But for everything else a table is a must. I tend too be very picky over who I hire due to back problems that I have. I only hire for one type of massage really deep tissue. My biggest pet peeve is certification. if you don't have a certification those hands arnt touching me..